Important Dates on the Penn State Academic Calendar 2022-2023

Penn State Academic Calendar
Penn State Academic Calendar

Important Dates on the Penn State Academic Calendar 2022-2023

The Penn State Academic Calendar 2022-2023 displays important academic dates such as the first day of classes, deadlines for adding and dropping classes, final exam days, graduation dates, holidays, spring break, winter break, fall break, and so on.

Also Read >>>2022’s Best Citation Generator Tools

If you are a new or continuing student at The Pennsylvania State University, it is critical that you review the PSU academic calendar for 2022–2023.

Penn State Academic Calendar
Penn State Academic Calendar

Fall 2022 academic calendar at Penn State

The fall semester at Penn State begins on August 15, 2022. Important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Fall 2022 are listed below. Penn State does not have a fall break, but it does have a Thanksgiving break from Sunday, November 20, 2022 to Saturday, November 26, 2022.

  • The intent to graduate – activation period is from Monday, August 15 to Tuesday, September 6, 2022.
  • The deadline for requesting a leave of absence is Friday, August 19, 2022.
  • Penn State Move-in Day 2022 (Arrival Day) is scheduled for Friday, August 19, to Sunday, August 21, 2022.
  • The registration deadline is August 21, 2022.
  • Classes for the fall semester of 2022 begin on Monday, August 22, 2022.
  • The regular drop deadline is August 27 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  • The regular add deadline is August 28, 2022 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  • Late Drop begins on August 28, 2022.
  • Late registration for the regular session begins on Monday, August 29, 2022.
  • On the Penn State Academic Calendar 2022–2023, Labor Day is on Monday, September 5th, 2022.
  • The deadline for filing final exam conflicts is September 26th, 2022.
  • The deadline for late submissions is Friday, November 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  • The deadline for declaring concurrent majors, minors, or certificates (graduating students) is Friday, November 11, 2022.
  • Thanksgiving 2022 is from Sunday, November 20 to Saturday, November 26.
  • The deadline for withdrawals is Friday, December 9 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  • Fall classes end on December 9, 2022.
  • Study Days will take place on Saturday, December 10, and Sunday, December 11, 2022.
  • Final exams for the fall semester will be held from Monday, December 12 to Friday, December 16, 2022.
  • Commencement or graduation 2022 will take place on Saturday, December 17, 2022.

Penn State academic calendar spring 2023

Important events and deadlines for the Spring 2023 Penn State academic calendar are shown below.

  1. The Intent to Graduate Activation Period runs from Monday, January 2 to Monday, January 23, 2023.
  2. The deadline for requesting a leave of absence is Friday, January 6, 2023.
  3. The registration deadline for Spring 2023 is Sunday, January 8, 2023. Look into the LionPATH portal and PSU Canvas.
  4. Spring classes start on January 9, 2023.
  5. Wednesday, January 11 at 11:59 p.m. is the regular drop deadline for the First 7-Week Session (ET).
  6. Thursday, January 12 at 11:59 p.m. is the regular add deadline for the First 7-Week Session (ET).
  7. On the Penn State Academic Calendar for 2022–2023, late registration begins on Thursday, January 12 for the first 7-Week Session.
  8. Late registration for the first 7-Week Session begins on Friday, January 13.
  9. Saturday, January 14, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. is the regular drop deadline (ET).
  10. The regular add deadline is 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, January 15, 2023 (ET).
  11. The late drop begins on January 15, 2023.
  12. On Monday, January 16, 2023, late registration will begin.
  13. Martin Luther King Day is observed on Monday, January 16, 2023.
  14. On the Penn State academic calendar, the Final Exam Conflict Filing Period runs from Monday, February 13 to Sunday, March 5, 2023.
  15. The deadline for late registration for the first 7-Week Session is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  16. The deadline for late additions for the first 7-Week Session is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  17. The first 7-week session late drop deadline is Tuesday, February 14 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  18. The deadline for withdrawing from the first 7-Week Session is Friday, February 24 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  19. The first 7-week session concludes on Friday, February 24, 2023.
  20. Penn State Spring Break 2023 runs from Sunday, March 5 to Saturday, March 11 of that year.
  21. The registration deadline for the second 7-Week Session is March 12, 2023.
  22. Classes for the second 7-week session begin on Monday, March 13, 2023.
  23. The regular drop deadline for the second 7-Week session is March 15 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  24. The regular add deadline for the second 7-Week session is March 16 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  25. On Thursday, March 16, 2023, late registration for the second 7-Week session begins.
  26. Late registration for the second 7-Week session begins on Friday, March 17, 2023.
  27. The deadline for late registration is Friday, April 7, 2023, at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  28. On the Penn State academic calendar, the Late Add deadline is Friday, April 7 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  29. The deadline for late submissions is Friday, April 7, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  30. Friday, April 7, 2023, is the last day for students who are about to graduate to declare multiple majors, minors, or certificates.
  31. The deadlines for late drop, late registration, and late addition for the second 7-week session are Wednesday, April 19, 2023.
  32. The deadline for withdrawals is Friday, April 28th, 2023 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  33. Classes will conclude on Friday, April 28, 2023.
  34. Study Days will take place on Saturday, April 29th, 2023 and Sunday, April 30th, 2023.
  35. Final exams will be held from Monday, May 1 to Friday, May 5, 2023.
  36. Commencement or graduation 2023 will take place on Friday, May 5, and Sunday, May 7, 2023.

Summer 2022 academic calendar at Penn State

Maymester, First 6-Week Session, Second 6-Week Session, and Regular Session are the divisions of the PSU Summer semester 2022. Important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for summer sessions 2022 are listed below.

Maymester

Important dates and deadlines in the Penn State academic calendar for Maymester 2022 are listed below.

  1. The first day of classes for new students is Sunday, May 8, 2022.
  2. The registration deadline is May 8, 2022.
  3. The Intent to Graduate-Activation Period runs from Monday, May 9 to Friday, June 17, 2022.
  4. Classes begin on Monday, May 9, 2022.
  5. The regular drop deadline is May 10 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  6. The regular add deadline is May 11 at 11:59 p.m. (ET). (ET)
  7. On the Penn State academic calendar, late registration begins on Wednesday, May 11, 2022.
  8. On Thursday, May 12, 2022, late registration will begin.
  9. Memorial Day is observed on Monday, May 30, 2022.
  10. The deadline for late submissions is Tuesday, May 31 at 11:59 p.m. (ET).
  11. The deadline for withdrawals is Monday, June 6 at 5:00 p.m. (ET).
  12. Classes will conclude on Monday, June 6, 2022.
  13. Tuesday, June 7, 2022 is Study Days.
  14. Final exams will be held on Wednesday, June 8, 2022.
  15. The deadline to declare a minor (for graduating students) is Monday, August 1, 2022.
  16. Commencement will take place on Saturday, August 13, 2022.

Penn State semester division

Semester classification or Class standing (also known as “class level” or “classification”) is a traditional term used to describe a student’s progress toward graduation. Undergraduate students are classified based on the number of credits they have earned (institutional and transfer credits).

The semester classification of an undergraduate degree candidate is used to determine how early a student may register, assign classes with a prerequisite semester classification, change of campus assignment, tuition calculation, and eligibility for on-campus parking.